The Lausanne School of economics is a neoclassical philosophy that focuses on general equilibrium theory. Lausanne theories are built largely on the philosophy of Vilfredo Pareto, Leon Winiarski, and Leon Walras.

The Lausanne, or Mathematical, School relies on the Pareto distribution principle, commonly known as the 80/20 rule, that 80% of land, money, or capital will typically be owned by 20% of society.

The “Walrasian” approach analyzed economies through simultaneous market demand and supply equations. Walras’ focused on grandiose and abstract projects such as integrating equilibrium solutions to develop stability, inject currency, and incorporate growth and capital.

Other economists in this school tended to focus on topics of a more micro nature, such as basic individual and business decision making.

Comments are closed.